New stakes created in Uganda

The Church organized its second stake in Uganda on November 29th. The Jinja Uganda Stake was organized from the Jinja Uganda District (organized in 1993). The new stake includes the following five wards and two branches: the Bugembe, Iganga, Jinja, Mpumedde, and Njeru Wards, and the Lugazi and Walukuba Branches. Missionaries report preliminary plans to organize a third stake in Uganda from a division of the Kampala Uganda Stake (organized in 2010) although the stake currently lacks a sufficient number of wards to create a second stake in the city (7 wards, 5 branches) unless several branches become wards.

Read more at LDS Church Growth

This entry was posted in Stakes & Districts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *